Renunciation and Simplicity, by Corrado Pensa

Buddhism now

Virtue-parami, which in the Theravada tradition is called nekkhamma, usually translates as ‘renunciation’. Nekkhamma is one of the ten paramis, one of the ten virtues. The other nine are—generosity (dana), morality (sila), wisdom or discernment (panna), energy or right effort (viriya), patience (khanti), truthfulness (sacca), resolute determination (adhitthana), loving-kindness (metta), and equanimity (upekkha).

The 5 Buddhist Colours represent the 'Godai Nyorai' (五大如来 -5 Great Buddhas). Photo © @KyotoDailyPhotoOn the one hand we have meditation practice—the need to cultivate sitting and walking practice in its strictest form—and on the other hand we have the manifestation of dharma. The ten virtues (paramis) are related to manifesting peace, understanding and loving-kindness. So, there is the formal sitting and walking practice, and through these ten avenues (ten paramis) there is also the cultivation and manifestation of what is of value. I mention the…

View original post 2,815 more words


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s